CFA's National Winners

The award of National Winner (or NW) was first reported in the 1971 yearbook, for the 1970-71 show season.

The award is given to the top cats, kittens, and alters after each show season. However, the number of awards has varied over the years, changing as the number of cats and shows have increased. The table below give a breakdown as to how many awards were given in any particular show season.

Show Season Kittens Championship Premiership
1970-71 thru 1970-71 5 10 5
1971-72 thru 1978-79 5 20 5
1979-80 thru 1988-89 10 20 10
1989-90 thru 1995-96 15 25 15
1996-97 thru 2003-04 20 25 20
2004-05 thru present 25 25 25

The first Himalayan to earn a National Win was GC, NW Lord Byron, a seal point male, who was 9th Best Cat in the 1972-1973 show season.

The first CPC to earn a National Win was GC, NW Catsafrats Ice Cube, a blue-eyed white male, who was 13th Best Cat in the 1989-1990 show season.

For a detailed listing of Himalayan and CPC national winners, including links to photos (when available) and pedigrees, see the following pages:

Himalayan NWs:



All photographs © by the individual photographers.
Please do not download or copy them without express permission.

© - All rights reserved
For questions or comments regarding the site, please contact the webmaster
Site design and maintainance courtesy of Ristokat Web Design