CFA's Himalayan Breed Winners

The Himalayan was first accepted for competition in 1957.

However, it wasn't until the 1965-66 show season that CFA began reporting best of breed winners. The number of breed winners has varied over the years - the table below gives a breakdown as to what awards were given in any particular show season.

Show Season Breed Awards
1965-66 thru 1969-70 Best of Breed, Best Opposite Sex
1970-71 thru 1977-78 Best of Breed only
1978-79 thru 1996-97 Best of Breed, 2nd Best of Breed
1997-98 thru present Best of Breed, 2nd Best of Breed,
3rd Best of Breed

The first Himalayan to earn a Breed Win was GC, BW Chestermere Kinuba of Nevah-Tep, a blue point male, who was best of breed in both the 1965-66 and 1966-67 show season.

In the 2001-02 show season, a new award was instituted by CFA - the Breed Winner (BW) award. This award is given only to the National Best of Breed winner each year, and is also being added retroactively to past year's breed winners. Although CFA is still in the process of adding this title, those cats who were Best of Breed since the Himalayan was first recognized will be identified with the BW on this site.

For more details, including links to photos (when available) and pedigrees, see the following pages:

Himalayan CFA Breed Winners:


All photographs © by the individual photographers.
Please do not download or copy them without express permission.

© - All rights reserved
For questions or comments regarding the site, please contact the webmaster
Site design and maintainance courtesy of Ristokat Web Design